red lentils over rice

Sometimes a meal is as simple as putting good food in a bowl.  I am notorious for over-complicating food.  But when you have delicious ingredients, I find it better to let them stand on there own.

I love the crap out of red lentils!!  Black lentil are very pretty.  Green lentils are a bit tough.  I have not tried yellow yet.  But red, are delicious and creamy.  I had been craving them for a few days, so I decided to make a stoup.  Don’t you just love Rachel Ray?!  Stoup is just a stew/soup combination.  Thicker than a soup, thinner than a stew.

ingrediants
Red Lentil Stoup Ingredients

You don’t have to soak red lentils and they generally take about 30 minutes to fully cook.  I like to add some simple ingredient to stretch my lentils.  Today I sauteed some onion, carrots and celery in water.  After they were soft, I added 1 cup of washed lentils.  Also adding garlic powder (I didn’t have any fresh), salt, turmeric and a seasoning blend.

tomatoes
Fire Roasted Tomatoes

Once everything had been added I decided I wanted some fire roasted tomatoes.  I added 1/3 of the can.  This was a very good decision.  I love the flavor and color the tomatoes gave.

red-lentils
Red Lentils over Rice

 

Red Lentils over Rice

1 c red lentils

2 stalks of celery, diced

2 carrots, diced

1/4 large onion, diced

1/3 can of fire roasted tomatoes

1 t each of turmeric, salt, garlic powder and seasoning mix

1 bay leaf

cooked rice for serving

In a soup pot saute onion, carrot and celery until tender.  Add rinsed lentils to pot.  Stir in fire roasted tomatoes.  Add all seasonings and spices.  Stir well.  Add 2 large cups of water and bay leaf  Simmer with lid on for 30 minutes.  Once done, place in bowl over rice.  To make it a litter fresher I added some fresh spinach and tomatoes.

Enjoy!

xoxo,

Blackberry’s Mom


2 thoughts on “red lentils over rice

Leave a comment