book’d | Outer Order Inner Calm

Happy New Year!!

I started the new year in San Diego, California. Don’t get excited, it was for work. The city is beautiful! It’s the California I love.

In my luggage were three books. I love books, they make me feel comfortable. Outer Order Inner Calm by Gretchen Rubin is the January 2020 read for the Paper and Glam book club. The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up was the Paper & Glam book for January in 2016. That is when my quest to simplify my life began.

Room Service from the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego, CA

As I sat in my hotel eating my room service breakfast, I was not sure what kind of review I would give this book. It is a wonderful reminder of all the books I’ve read on the subject over the last 5 years. Although I enjoyed reading it, I was fully prepared to tell you it was not necessary if you’d read any other book about decluttering. That was until page 114. The title of the page is Are You an Underbuyer? I’m sure this subject has been touched on in the many other books I’ve read, but the way it was written here struck my soul. She described me as if she was Cousin Paula. My Cousin Paula has been in my life since the day I came home from the hospital at birth. She knows me better than anyone; even my mother. She is always fussing at me to “buy what you need and want”. Her favorite question to ask is, “why didn’t you get it?” At the same time, she is the only person that truly knows how messy and unorganized I used to be. She is the only person I allow to see my “mess”.

So, my full review is… if you are on a journey to change your life and habits when it comes to stuff, read this book. There will be a nugget in it for you. It is a small book that will easily fit in most purses and bags. The print is sharp and the “chapters” are very well organized. Some of the subheadings are one sentence. This makes the large amount of action required easy to swallow.

xoxo,

Tracy Deanne


Leave a comment