Crock-pot Black Bean Soup

In a world of Instapots and air fryers, I am holding on tight to my Crock-pot. It’s just the cheap, minimalist inside of me that will not allow any other gadgets in my home. The crock-pot has served me well for years and continues to do so.

1 cup of black beans, dried

1 yellow onion, diced

1 red bell pepper (green is cheaper), diced

1 can tomatoes with chilies, diced (Ro-Tel is my favorite)

1 1/2 c. of veggie stock (for thin soup add more, for thick soup add less)

1 T. salt free seasoning of your choice (I used Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute)

1 t. garlic powder

1 t. ground cumin

dash of ground cayenne pepper (or to taste)

Salt to taste, but only after soup is done

Lime, cilantro, avocado, vegan sour cream and tortilla chips (all optional)

Spread the beans on a white or light colored surface. This will allow you to see any rocks, stones, or wonky beans. Just throw those out. Soak the cup of bean in a large bowl of water over night. I like my water to be at least 2 inches above the beans.

The next day, drain and rinse the beans. Along with the beans, place the next 8 ingredients in the crock-pot and stir. I started with the crock-pot on high for the first hour and low for the next 6 hours, while I was at work.

Once the soup is done, add salt to taste. To thicken my soup, I place half the soup in a blender. Blend and return to the pot and stir.

Serve with lime, cilantro, avocado, vegan sour cream and tortilla chips. I also eat this over yellow or Mexican rice. This will help the soup stretch a few more days.

It reheats well and is great for lunch.

xoxo,

Tracy Deanne


Leave a comment